Internet Information Manager - Get control of your marketing information today!
 
Current
Newsletter


Archives

Home

Articles

Events


Q and As


Resources


Our Company


Submit A Question

Contact

Products

Newsmon
How to use


Internet Marketing 101

June 20th, 2003

Hello y'all;

A few thoughts between the hacks and coughs of the flu or a heck of a cold. I mentioned last week I thought I was catching something, and sure enough I was.
Whew, this crud took hold and is still wearing me out.

Anyway the other morning I was working on the computer and kept feeling an itch in my shoulder blade. As I started scratching it I felt a small bump. Hmmm, come to find out it was a tick.

Ticks get bad this time of the year here in Tennessee like many areas of the country.

So I plucked it off, doused the spot with some alcohol and kept working, however it got me to thinking. I started thinking about how the little bloodsuckers attached themselves (usually unknown to the donor), and then happily drain their blood.

Geeesh, I've seen farm dogs with so many ticks attached to their ears, it made me wonder how they could hold their head up. Yet the dog trotted along seemingly UNAWARE of the violators.

Some of the ticks were swelled bigger than large marbles. Worse than that, if you tried to pluck one off, it would pop like a balloon, yeah gross I know.
:-)

Anyway my point is, there are people out wanting to do the same thing to you.
Yes marketing is about selling goods or services, and making a profit.

But also as marketers we have to be aware of what's going on around us.

We need to be AWARE of our customer needs.
We should be AWARE of what the latest trends are.
We should be AWARE of possible fraud orders being placed with us.
We should be AWARE of scams.

Very late Wednesday night, I received the email shown below:
(I have changed some information to generic info for disclosure reasons.)


==============================================

Dear customer,

Recently we have received an order made by using your personal credit card information.

This order was made online at our official XXXXXXX website on 06/19/2003. 

Our Fraud Department has some suspicions regarding this order and we need you to visit a special Fraud Department page at our web store where you can confirm or decline this transaction by providing us with the correct information.

This e-mail address has been taken from National Credit Bureau.

Click the link below to visit a special Fraud Department page to resolve the cause of the problem.  

XXXXXXX.com/fraud_department.html
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ORDER# 1095619 - STATUS: SUSPENDED  

ITEMS PURCHASED  
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Item No: 73890 
CDA-9815 In-Dash CD Player/Ai-Changer Controller 
Price: $387.65   Qty: 2  
Total: $775.30
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The order listed above has not yet been processed.
The reason for the delay in processing your order is:
UNVERIFIED SHIPPING ADDRESS
Information provided:
Shipping    41 Street Name, Ave.
Staten Island, NY  10306
United States
phone# XXX-3X7-9X43

In our effort to deter fraudulent transactions, we need your help in providing us with the correct information. Your prompt response is needed to avoid any unauthorized charges to your credit card.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Click the link below to visit a special Fraud Department page to resolve the cause of the problem.

XXXXXXX.com/fraud_department.html

Sincerely;
Blah, Blah

Such & Such Big Retailer, Inc.
==============================================


Well even though I'm very aware when dealing with possible fraud, this one really caught my attention.

Especially since it was from a very big name electronic retailer that, I in fact am going to visit today to buy some additional recording equipment. I had spent some time on their website earlier this week looking over various models of some equipment.

I have also made several purchases from them in the past.

However after noting several things I decided it was a scam or sometimes called "email spoofing" where the email is made to look like it came from an official person of a legitimate company or service. The scammer is trying to pull sensitive and personal information from you.

I still decided I would call the retailer the next day to be sure.

Ok, now here are some things I noted:

1. Why didn't they know my name? I mean hey what's this "Dear Customer" stuff, if you think someone is using my credit card then that means you should know my name.

2. The sender's email address was not from the retailers domain name, however it was from one of the big ISPs. Examples being Bellsouth, Earthlink, AOL, and etc. No it was not a free email address.

3. When I typed in XXXXXXX.com/fraud_department.html in my browser it could not find the page, but instead returned a 404 error stating the page could not be found on the retailers site.

4. The XXXXXXX.com/fraud_department.html did not go to that link, it was redirected to another domain something called instant-credit-(something or another).org or something similar.

However when clicking on the link in the email and letting it redirect, I was taken to a site that looked exactly like the retailers site. I mean an exact copy, except the wording in the center of the page contained the senders ad copy relating to possible credit card fraud.

All the other links on the page actually went to the legitimate retailers links. Upon clicking on the link telling me to do so, to prevent possible fraud of my card, I was carried to another exact duplicate page that contained a form to fill out my information and verify it was correct.

This was so well done that it actually had me questioning if it might be valid.

So next I decided to check out the domain name itself (instant-credit-(something or another).org). I looked up the owner information using http://www.whois.sc (a great free lookup site for domains) and saw that the info was locked from prying eyes. The kicker was that the domain had been registered only a day before me receiving the email.

Geesh, I wasn't born yesterday, if this big name retailer was sending this email then they sure wouldn't send me to another domain name site that was just registered yesterday.

Especially considering the nature of the email and the potential problem involved. Seems to me they would call me by phone, or have me call them.

Anyway, the next morning before calling the retail chain's office, I decided again to try the link. Guess what, it was shut down and the domain no longer resolves. So someone must have contacted the retailer and they had the offending site and scam shut down very quickly.

So folks, watch your step, watch who you send sensitive data too, especially via situations such as the one described above.

The scammers are getting more polished by the day!

Similar to the tick, these people would love nothing better than to attach themselves to your credit card and drain it dry.



I hope you have a great weekend!


Send me your comments and/or marketing questions please:
comments@InternetMarketing-101.net


Thanks for joining me and my rambling!



PS: Send your comments and/or marketing questions to:
comments@InternetMarketing-101.net

Let me know if it's ok to use your comments or questions in my newsletter.

If you would like a copy in article form to run in your newsletter just let me know...grin...

If you are not a subscriber to my newsletter click below to join up. I'll notify you each week when the new version comes online via email.

Click here to subscribe

Click here to unsubscribe


All rights reserved. Copyright 1999-2003 BudgetWare, Inc.
Any and all trademarks mentioned are property of their

respective company, and does not imply or represent any affiliation
of BudgetWare, Inc. to those companies."